MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

Spiccato loudness with KS

Get tips and ideas on how to get the most out of Garritan libraries

Spiccato loudness with KS

Postby bFooz » Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:10 am

Hi, I'm new to GPO and sample software in general.

I have this problem (or maybe don't know how to use it): with loaded e.g. Small Section -> 4 Violas KS , the spiccato articulation is much louder than SusVib. And the resulting dynamics while playing and keyswitching are understandably unusable.

Could you explain how to use it well please? Thank you.
  • 0

bFooz
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December, 2016
Reputation: 0

Re: Spiccato loudness with KS

Postby Credo » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:25 am

Spiccato/Staccato/Martele/Sautille/Sul tasto/pizzicato/col legno............

Those all use both CC1 AND key velocity to get dynamics, where the sustains get it from CC1 (or CC11).

I took a look at the sfz file for the 4 Violas and see that you can adjust the "velocity tracking" for that particular patch using CC12. I.E. If you set CC12 to 127, then you'll get a one for one correlation between key velocity and volume. If you set CC12 to 0, then it will always play full volume (relative to whatever CC7 [channel volume] and CC1/CC11 [expression volume]).

If this isn't enough to get the spiccato dynamics in balance then we'll need to consider tweaking the sfz a bit to pull the amplitude down for that layer (not sure exactly how right this second, but I'm sure it could be done).
  • 1

Credo
 
Posts: 112
Joined: September, 2014
Reputation: 24
Software Owned:
Cubase 8.5; Sibelius 7.5; Finale 2014.5; Bidule;
Garritan Ultimate Collection, Halion 5, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, SONiVOX Film and Orchestra Companion

Re: Spiccato loudness with KS

Postby bFooz » Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:41 pm

Thanks, CC12 helped.

When I load a new instance of the ARIA player, I have it always set somewhere in the middle so I need to reset (max-out) it manually every time.
  • 0

bFooz
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December, 2016
Reputation: 0

Re: Spiccato loudness with KS

Postby Credo » Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:41 pm

bFooz wrote:Thanks, CC12 helped.

When I load a new instance of the ARIA player, I have it always set somewhere in the middle so I need to reset (max-out) it manually every time.


If you want to change the default for a CC you can add a default setting to the <control> group near the top of an sfz file. Sometimes you'll have to go a few files deep if an sfz uses 'include' files, but it's not too hard to track stuff down.

Example:

1. Find and make a back-up the sfz file. Here's an example command for a windows command line in admin mode:
Code: Select all
copy "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Garritan\Personal Orchestra 5\Instruments\Include\controls_gos_solos.sfz"  "%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Garritan\Personal Orchestra 5\Instruments\Include\controls_gos_solos.sfz.bak"


2. Open your target sfz file with a text editor such as Notpad that comes with Windows. You could just tap and hold the windows key and press r, then paste this into the run line:
Code: Select all
"%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Program Files\Garritan\Personal Orchestra 5\Instruments\Include\controls_gos_solos.sfz"


When Windows asks what to use to open an sfz file, let it use the Notepad text editor.

Add this line to the 'control group':

Code: Select all
set_cc12=127
//Or whatever value from 0 to 127 you like.

3. Save the file and load/reload the sound in ARIA. You should find that all the strings that use this <control> group now default cc12 to your chosen entry when it first loads.
  • 1

Credo
 
Posts: 112
Joined: September, 2014
Reputation: 24
Software Owned:
Cubase 8.5; Sibelius 7.5; Finale 2014.5; Bidule;
Garritan Ultimate Collection, Halion 5, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, SONiVOX Film and Orchestra Companion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron