MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

From a slightly puzzled newbie to JABB

For solving technical issues involving installation, operation, bug reports and troubleshooting

From a slightly puzzled newbie to JABB

Postby jack o-trades » Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:27 am

Hello all!

Having acquired JABB recently, I'm trying to get to grips with it. So for a better understanding of the software, this is my first foray into these forums.

A bit of background first.

As a musician, I have several decades in trad jazz, Swing, early bop and some Latin under my belt. I worked with some amazing singers, too. And I chose JABB because it contains the sole decent virtual tenor banjo - my main instrument - I have been able to find. And boy did I search for one: for the best part of a decade, I reckon! Of every musical instrument under the sun there's a virtual version available. But of tenor banjo not: none whatsoever! I kid you not!

I may also be a little unusual in that I seem the only one on MMF using JABB as standalone (or attempting to, at least). I notice, from exploring index board content, that Garritan software serves as plug-in or as notation add-on, for most (if not all) of you. But a dedicated forum for standalone Garritan is nowhere to find either - try as I may (a suggestion for a sub-forum, maybe?). So here I am.

That said, JABB seems a wonderful tool for recording purposes, from my perspective. And as to this aspect, my approach may be a little unorthodox, too.