MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

For solving technical issues involving installation, operation, bug reports and troubleshooting

Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby withers2 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:03 pm

I just started using JABB and I'm trying to set up templates. I just can't seem to get JABB to respond to the aftertouch on my keyboard. I'm using a Kurzweil k2500XS to control my rig. Could someone please tell me what stupid mistake I'm making?
  • 0

Mark Withers
Minister of Music - First United Methodist Church, Krum Texas
The Mark Withers Orchestra
Sonar V-Studio VS-700
Kurzweil K2500
Lenovo Duo Core 2, 2.33GHZ 4MG Ram
withers2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April, 2014
Reputation: 0

Re: Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby rbowser » Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:18 pm

withers2 wrote:I just started using JABB and I'm trying to set up templates. I just can't seem to get JABB to respond to the aftertouch on my keyboard. I'm using a Kurzweil k2500XS to control my rig. Could someone please tell me what stupid mistake I'm making?


hmmm - I don't know what the problem might be, withers2. I doubt if it involves stupidity though. :)

Are you trying to use JABB live, and that's why you're trying to rely on key pressure from your keyboard? If you're using a DAW program, be sure it's set to receive AfterTouch data. Sonar, for instance, defaults to having AT turned off. Instruments won't respond to the AT data until that default is changed. For the best control of vibrato in JABB and the other Garritan Libraries, I have AT assigned to my keyboard's control stick/wheel because the results are more reliable than pushing down on keys.

Here's a page online that may be of help:

Kurzweil Knowledge Base

Randy
  • 0

Garritan Organs demos of all 75 stops

"Dorian Gray"

Hardware:

Roland A-800 MIDI keyboard controller
Alesis i|O2 interface
Gigabyte Technology-AMD Phenom II @ 3 GHz
8 Gb RAM 6 Core Windows 7 Home Premium x64
with dual monitors
User avatar
rbowser
 
Posts: 494
Joined: December, 2013
Reputation: 50
Software Owned:
ARIA Player v1.626
ARIA Engine 1.665
GPO4
JABB 3
COMB 2
Instant Orchestra
Garritan World
Garritan Classic Pipe Organs
Garritan Harps
Garritan Authorized Steinway
Garritan Stradivari solo violin
Garritan Gofriller solo cello

Sundry soft synths:
Dimension Pro, EZDrummer, over 50 others

Sonar 8.5 (have but don't use Sonar X1)
Sony Sound Forge 10
Sibelius 7

Video editing: Cyberlink Power Director 11

Re: Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby withers2 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:22 pm

Thanks. Yes, I'm using Sonar. I'll dig around for it.
  • 0

Mark Withers
Minister of Music - First United Methodist Church, Krum Texas
The Mark Withers Orchestra
Sonar V-Studio VS-700
Kurzweil K2500
Lenovo Duo Core 2, 2.33GHZ 4MG Ram
withers2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April, 2014
Reputation: 0

Re: Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby withers2 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:25 pm

Well, that wasn't it. Any other ideas?
  • 0

Mark Withers
Minister of Music - First United Methodist Church, Krum Texas
The Mark Withers Orchestra
Sonar V-Studio VS-700
Kurzweil K2500
Lenovo Duo Core 2, 2.33GHZ 4MG Ram
withers2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April, 2014
Reputation: 0

Re: Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby rbowser » Sat Apr 05, 2014 12:55 pm

withers2 wrote:Well, that wasn't it. Any other ideas?


There could be some issue with that vintage keyboard's use of AT - I don't know. Do go to that knowledge base page I sent. Are you trying to play JABB live? If not, and you're recording, look into how easy it is to control vibrato via an AT control pane in the PRV. Does the keyboard have a knob or slider that can be programmed to send AT?-- As per my earlier post, it really gives you much more control over vibrato if you can do that, instead of relying on key pressure.

Randy
  • 0

Garritan Organs demos of all 75 stops

"Dorian Gray"

Hardware:

Roland A-800 MIDI keyboard controller
Alesis i|O2 interface
Gigabyte Technology-AMD Phenom II @ 3 GHz
8 Gb RAM 6 Core Windows 7 Home Premium x64
with dual monitors
User avatar
rbowser
 
Posts: 494
Joined: December, 2013
Reputation: 50
Software Owned:
ARIA Player v1.626
ARIA Engine 1.665
GPO4
JABB 3
COMB 2
Instant Orchestra
Garritan World
Garritan Classic Pipe Organs
Garritan Harps
Garritan Authorized Steinway
Garritan Stradivari solo violin
Garritan Gofriller solo cello

Sundry soft synths:
Dimension Pro, EZDrummer, over 50 others

Sonar 8.5 (have but don't use Sonar X1)
Sony Sound Forge 10
Sibelius 7

Video editing: Cyberlink Power Director 11

Re: Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby withers2 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:06 pm

Yes, I'm trying to use Sonar. The after touch works with my other plugins. That's why I'm confused. Maybe I'll try resetting the whole keyboard with a hard reset (when in doubt, reboot). Yes, I checked the knowledge base. I'm very familiar with the old keyboard. That's why I cling to it. What is PRV?

Thanks for your help.
  • 0

Mark Withers
Minister of Music - First United Methodist Church, Krum Texas
The Mark Withers Orchestra
Sonar V-Studio VS-700
Kurzweil K2500
Lenovo Duo Core 2, 2.33GHZ 4MG Ram
withers2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April, 2014
Reputation: 0

Re: Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby rbowser » Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:16 pm

withers2 wrote:...What is PRV?...

Piano Roll View--! The heart of Sonar! - Have you edited your MIDI tracks previously? Open PRV, choose a track in the menu, ask to see the controller pane, in the menu assign a pane/lane to Channel AfterTouch, - that's where you can draw in the data by hand, or edit data you've recorded. If you go there and run a test, drawing in a ramp of AT data under a sustained brass note, you'll hear the vibrato.

If your keyboard is really sending out AT and Sonar is really set to record it, the AT data will show up there in the PRV.

Randy
  • 0

Garritan Organs demos of all 75 stops

"Dorian Gray"

Hardware:

Roland A-800 MIDI keyboard controller
Alesis i|O2 interface
Gigabyte Technology-AMD Phenom II @ 3 GHz
8 Gb RAM 6 Core Windows 7 Home Premium x64
with dual monitors
User avatar
rbowser
 
Posts: 494
Joined: December, 2013
Reputation: 50
Software Owned:
ARIA Player v1.626
ARIA Engine 1.665
GPO4
JABB 3
COMB 2
Instant Orchestra
Garritan World
Garritan Classic Pipe Organs
Garritan Harps
Garritan Authorized Steinway
Garritan Stradivari solo violin
Garritan Gofriller solo cello

Sundry soft synths:
Dimension Pro, EZDrummer, over 50 others

Sonar 8.5 (have but don't use Sonar X1)
Sony Sound Forge 10
Sibelius 7

Video editing: Cyberlink Power Director 11

Re: Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby withers2 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:10 pm

Thanks for your help. What I ended up doing was to just program the sliders so that they would emulate the after touch etc. It's not at elegant, but it will do nicely until I figure out what stupid thing I'm not doing.

Thanks again.
  • 0

Mark Withers
Minister of Music - First United Methodist Church, Krum Texas
The Mark Withers Orchestra
Sonar V-Studio VS-700
Kurzweil K2500
Lenovo Duo Core 2, 2.33GHZ 4MG Ram
withers2
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April, 2014
Reputation: 0

Re: Am I stupid? (Aftertouch not controlling vibrato)

Postby rbowser » Mon Apr 07, 2014 7:23 pm

withers2 wrote:Thanks for your help. What I ended up doing was to just program the sliders so that they would emulate the after touch etc. It's not at elegant, but it will do nicely until I figure out what stupid thing I'm not doing.

Thanks again.

Glad you have something going on. Actually, depending on what kind of control you assign AfterTouch to, I feel it can be more elegant than having it tied to your key pressure. I bypass the AT on my keys and have it assigned to my ModWheel when I'm using Garritan. I have more control than I did with it on the keys. If you can program your Wheel for it, you may prefer it to a slider.

Randy
  • 0

Garritan Organs demos of all 75 stops

"Dorian Gray"

Hardware:

Roland A-800 MIDI keyboard controller
Alesis i|O2 interface
Gigabyte Technology-AMD Phenom II @ 3 GHz
8 Gb RAM 6 Core Windows 7 Home Premium x64
with dual monitors
User avatar
rbowser
 
Posts: 494
Joined: December, 2013
Reputation: 50
Software Owned:
ARIA Player v1.626
ARIA Engine 1.665
GPO4
JABB 3
COMB 2
Instant Orchestra
Garritan World
Garritan Classic Pipe Organs
Garritan Harps
Garritan Authorized Steinway
Garritan Stradivari solo violin
Garritan Gofriller solo cello

Sundry soft synths:
Dimension Pro, EZDrummer, over 50 others

Sonar 8.5 (have but don't use Sonar X1)
Sony Sound Forge 10
Sibelius 7

Video editing: Cyberlink Power Director 11

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron