MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

Real sound for Celtic fiddle

Get tips and ideas on how to get the most out of Garritan libraries

Real sound for Celtic fiddle

Postby Galandar » Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:09 pm

I use the Garritan instrument packages with Sonar X3 and I've been redoing an old piece I did with a 6/8 Celtic motif. I have a solo fiddle doing melody passages in eighth notes with grace notes, but it seems I just can't get the sound authentic (within reason) enough. I'm using the European fiddle from the World Instruments package. Anybody else try anything like this?

Galandar

Re: Real sound for Celtic fiddle

Postby kastra » Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:04 am

Hi Galandar,

Frankly, I hadn't considered doing anything with the GWI Fiddle - until now, that is! :)

https://soundcloud.com/kastra/diddles

This is just a short passage (32 bars) of "diddly fiddle" that I wrote in Finale and produced in Reaper. Needless to say, I'm no expert on Celtic fiddle, having only heard the occasional live player at local open mic sessions (mostly in the "novice" category) and a couple of tracks that I looked up on YouTube after seeing your OP. Words like "authentic" and "real" are, however, quite subjective when applied to samples, so I hope that the above can serve as a basis for further discussion - if it's short of the mark by your standards then at least a discussion of the shortcomings may prove mutually beneficial.

Please let me know if you find this at all helpful.

Regards,

Keith

kastra

Software Owned:
GPO5.01
GPO4.02
JABB3
GWI
Finale 2014.5
REAPER 5+
Sforzando

Postby Galandar » Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:13 pm

https://soundcloud.com/galandar/blood-red-tartan-mp3