MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

jOrgan to select from Garritan

Get tips and ideas on how to get the most out of Garritan libraries

jOrgan to select from Garritan

Postby Nobax » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:56 am

Hi, I have used a Java application called 'jOrgan' to control the use of samples so they can be selected and deselected, as an organist would control the sounds using stops.

In fact, jOrgan can be seen as a virtual console, built by the user.

You possibly know what's coming.... if I identified some of my favourite Garritan sounds and ensembles, would it be possible to access them through midi commands?

Sorry if I told you about jOrgan that you might already know.

Andy
  • 0

Nobax
 
Posts: 23
Joined: January, 2014
Reputation: 0

Re: jOrgan to select from Garritan

Postby Michael.B » Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:14 pm

Nobax wrote: ..... You possibly know what's coming.... if I identified some of my favourite Garritan sounds and ensembles, would it be possible to access them through midi commands?

Andy

Hello Andy,

If I'm not mistaken, there's another very similar post also asking if Aria instruments can be controlled through MIDI commands. Our resident Aria expert, Randy, answered that this isn't possible.

Here's the full thread.

I'm sure Randy will also call in to verify and I hope I haven't said the wrong thing.
  • 0

Michael.B
 
Posts: 416
Joined: December, 2013
Reputation: 56

Re: jOrgan to select from Garritan

Postby rbowser » Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:08 am

Michael.B wrote:
Nobax wrote: ..... You possibly know what's coming.... if I identified some of my favourite Garritan sounds and ensembles, would it be possible to access them through midi commands?...
...If I'm not mistaken, there's another very similar post also asking if Aria instruments can be controlled through MIDI commands...


Here's an update. jOrgan was new to me when the other thread on the same topic was started. I'll visit that thread again after writing here - But just yesterday, one of ARIA's developers said this in response to my question about using jOrgan:

"He could use JOrgan to send volume change information (MIDI CC7) as a toggle (values of either 0 or above zero at desired loudness) to each of ARIA's instrument slots."

Randy
  • 0

Garritan Organs demos of all 75 stops

"Dorian Gray"

Hardware:

Roland A-800 MIDI keyboard controller
Alesis i|O2 interface
Gigabyte Technology-AMD Phenom II @ 3 GHz
8 Gb RAM 6 Core Windows 7 Home Premium x64
with dual monitors
User avatar
rbowser
 
Posts: 494
Joined: December, 2013
Reputation: 50
Software Owned:
ARIA Player v1.626
ARIA Engine 1.665
GPO4
JABB 3
COMB 2
Instant Orchestra
Garritan World
Garritan Classic Pipe Organs
Garritan Harps
Garritan Authorized Steinway
Garritan Stradivari solo violin
Garritan Gofriller solo cello

Sundry soft synths:
Dimension Pro, EZDrummer, over 50 others

Sonar 8.5 (have but don't use Sonar X1)
Sony Sound Forge 10
Sibelius 7

Video editing: Cyberlink Power Director 11

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron