MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

Best Sequencer for this kind of work?

Get tips and ideas on how to get the most out of Garritan libraries

Best Sequencer for this kind of work?

Postby HLM001 » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:53 pm

Although I've been doing instrumental music via a sequencer for many years I've only recently come across the sort of articulation detail that Garritan offers. Maybe I haven't been looking hard enough, but for orchestral and instrumental mock ups for film TV and other types of work it seems the choice of sequencer is vital. I'm using Logic 9 at the moment and it's mcc# draw window, part of the Piano Roll called Hyper Draw is good, but it only shows one CC parameter at a time per instrument, even then you have to make sure you've selected the region or clip etc. There's a lot of detail that can be achieved now, yes it takes time, but hence my comment about choice of sequencer with the best workflow for this kind of thing.

I'll look forwards to trying out Digital Performer and Pro Tools properly. Used to have Sonar. I did like it - simple, easy to understand. Now the kit that can score out the midi as its heard, with all the assigned cc#'s and save me exporting midi files over and hacking away in a scoring program will get my bucks anyday!

HLM001

Re: Best Sequencer for this kind of work?

Postby Ernest Buckley » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:43 pm

Hello HLM001,

I`m a newbie with GPO but I`ll be using it with Digital Performer (DP) which has been my DAW of choice for the last 13 years. In my experience, it has pretty much everything one could need or want. DP has always been considered the standard for film composers so you may want to consider that. Considering doing some research and see which feature set resonates most with you in a DAW.

Peace,
EB

Ernest Buckley

Software Owned: