MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

Unsure if MusicXML will fit my proposed project.

Moderator: Michael Good

Unsure if MusicXML will fit my proposed project.

Postby LordFenty » Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:16 am

I have a project I want to begin, but before I invest much time I want to ensure I am using the correct tools / approach, to check that the whole project is viable - hence this question about MusicXML.

I am a computer programmer by trade rather than a musician, but want to create music (typically "pop" melodies, rather than orchestral "classical" music). This would be "programmed" / algorithmic music, in that I would write a script (e.g. in JavaScript, Python, etc) to design / compose the music initially (perhaps writing it to MusicXML or some other music-based scripting language or tool), and then listen, modify and tweak that in a DAW package of some kind (initially likely Audacity, but later perhaps a premium package) if I feel I need to add a personal human touch. I would like to be able to use standard freely available samples (e.g. of percussion instruments or of lead instruments such as guitar, piano, etc), or purchase a pack of samples if available.

If the project succeeds, I would presumably upgrade up to paid sample packs / more professional tools (inc. DAW packages, VST instruments and so on) as it evolves. But I want to start cheap / small, until I am sure that the project can actually work in terms of a proof-of-concept. I would prefer to work with samples / VST instruments (as I understand them) than to construct my own mathematically (which I think projects like CSound tries to do).

I do not currently read sheet music, and have no great need for notation software, unless it helps to convert from one format / layout to another.