MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

Display Sheet Music in Windows Application

Moderator: Michael Good

Display Sheet Music in Windows Application

Postby GammaS » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:52 am

I am developing a Visual Basic program using Visual Studio 2010 in conjunction with Finale's MusicXML export Function. Once I export an XML file from Finale, I would like to use this file to display the music In the Windows application I am developing. I am new to using XML files and I understand this might be a bit afar from this forum's topics, but even just knowing if this is possible would be a big help. Could you point me in the right direction to get started? I am a long time user of Finale. My current Version is Finale 2012. I would appreciate any help you can offer. Thank you, :) :?
GammaS
GammaS

Re: Display Sheet Music in Windows Application

Postby Mogens Lundholm » Sun Jan 11, 2015 5:27 am

I have made a program to play the Music Xml. I have made some diagrams for the state
machine.

My consideration is this.

Music Xml is described in the DTD (Document Type Definition - this link:
http://www.musicxml.com/for-developers/musicxml-dtd/).

I have used the attached diagrams to make a state machine reading Music Xml
A better approach would be to make a program to convert the DTD to a state machine.

Such programs may even already exist. I am considering making a program to make this
state machine out of the DTD.

I have noticed this while working with my program: Reading Midi files, you work and
suddenly it works and you are finished. The Midi format is simple and the base is the
notes to be played. But Music Xml is very big and complicated and you can never say that
you are finished, all the time there will be new things coming up. Music Xml is seen
from a note sheet - music is graphics.

This forum has people working with Music Xml. Tell us about your experience and
tools to process the Music Xml file. My next step might be to make a program reading the