MakeMusic
SmartMusic Finale Garritan MusicXML

SVG and musicXML

Moderator: Michael Good

SVG and musicXML

Postby Ben Newman » Mon Aug 19, 2002 1:13 pm

I am new to musicXML but am interested in its possibilities. In particular I am interested in trying to create a parser to convert the format into SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics).

The idea would be to produce an XSLT which could take a musicXML file and convert this to SVG. Twinned with something like the Batik engine from Apache, this could produce PDF scores from a musicXML source.

Before attempting such a task I would like to know if anybody else is working on it, and if not, if they would be.

I look forward to seeing feedback in this thread or to receiving email direct from anybody who is interested in pursuing this idea further.

Ben.
Ben Newman

RE: SVG and musicXML

Postby Paul Mindrup » Mon Aug 19, 2002 1:43 pm

Yes, I'm interested in this and have just started looking into it.

About a month ago, I mentioned this to Michael Good, who put me in touch with a Brian Grainger, who was also working on it. His reply was:

I'll try to summarize where I'm at with my MusicXML-->SVG converter.

To be quite honest, I haven't done anything with it for over a month now. Not for lack of interest, but because I've run into a major problem which I didn't foresee at the outset. And, to my surprise, the problem isn't technical as I initially assumed my problems would be, but legal.

I've been able to map the structural elements of MusicXML to their SVG equivalents without too much difficulty. The problem is now the graphical elements and the musical content, or more precisely the right to use specific fonts and the method for carrying through the copyrights of the composer/publisher/distributor/etc.